Why do all good things come to an end?

I’m sorry if this turns out to be the first in a series of what I guess will be love letters to my year abroad. Sitting in my apartment listening to old Glee songs has got me feeling hella emotional and my blog was initially created to allow me to get my thoughts and feelings out to the world.

Just under a year ago, I was going down to London for what I lovingly call “Embassy Day”. It was the day that I saw Tom Odell, went to Buzzfeed HQ, saw William and Kate and got my visa confirmed. It was a bliss day. Little did I know what would be in store for me over the next year but I’m genuinely so thankful and in love with where I am right now. Just like Roosevelt did for his nation, America’s given me a New Deal. A new deck of cards for me to gamble on and help me make decisions. Before coming abroad, I was scared of all the possibilities. What if America just wasn’t for me? What if I couldn’t face being so far away from home?

Now I’m struggling to face saying goodbye to anyone that I’ve met out here. I’m so thankful that I’ve got such a wonderful support network out here. Who would have thought before I flew out here that I’d be at a sorority formal event with a group of people that, prior to flying abroad, I didn’t know?

I’ve made it so close to the end, that I wish it was the start. It’s a bittersweet feeling. I’m excited to go home. I can’t wait to be with my family again and celebrate all the birthday’s that I’ve missed out on. I don’t want to part with my American pals. I’ve grown so fond of each and every person that I’ve met out here… I’m already a mess thinking about it. Please can I pack you all in my suitcases?

Image may contain: one or more people, kitchen and indoor

I’m looking back on my year abroad with a bigger bum and a bigger heart. I’ve learned to love myself even more, because others have loved me.

I can’t bear facing the last’s of things. I wish I could go back to the enjoyment of my first In-N-Out, the first Dunkin, back when everything felt brand new. Places don’t feel new anymore, but they still feel just as special. Before I know it, I won’t be able to walk into places like Target. I won’t be able to knock on my friend’s door and be at their places for hours. I won’t have the token British accent that’s quirky and cool. I won’t be able to go to chapter meeting and be #SRAT life because nobody around me will understand anything sorority-esque.

America, you took me in. For that, I’ll thank you so dearly. Just don’t do anything dickish over the next 17 days and we’re good.

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

