Impractical Jokers at the O2 Arena

Hello my lovely readers, I hope you are all well. Can you believe it, we’ve done a full week of 2017 and a major iconic celebrity hasn’t died and the world hasn’t fallen to pieces yet? To be fair, we’ve yet to have the inauguration of President Trump so this could still happen this year, but we’ll see what happens…

Anyway, enough mentioning of potential doom and gloom and on to discussing a super fun show I went to see! I took a trip to London (my favourite place in the world) along with my little sister and we went to see the Impractical Jokers Live on Tour! If you’ve never seen their show on Comedy Central or just watched a tiny bit of the show on Youtube, the Impractical Jokers comprise of Brian (Q), Joe, Salvatore (Sal) and James (Murr) doing silly tasks asked by the other jokers for them to complete. It’s so silly, easy watching and provides rip-roaring laughter in my house. In fact, it’s one of the only shows that my whole family genuinely enjoys and will sit down and watch together. Around my sister’s 14th birthday, I noticed that they were going on tour at the beginning of 2017 in the UK. She received the tickets for her birthday and 8 months later, it was her lucky day. She couldn’t believe her luck.

At first though, it wasn’t me who was going to go. My Dad was originally going to go with my sister, however my sister changed her mind at the last minute (to my delight!) and off I went to London. We arrived at the 02 Arena, Phoebe purchased a tour t-shirt, the programme and some wristbands and then we went to Gourmet Burger Kitchen for dinner. It was so delicious, even if a Deliveroo guy couldn’t stop checking me out…

blog-1
Always super happy to be waiting for food in a restaurant.
blog-2
Avocado and Bacon burger from GBK is YUMMY. Doing the picture for the Insta.

Once Phoebe and I had finished our meal, we walked to the O2 Arena and found our seats inside the arena. We had such good seats and it was so hard to keep calm and try and find Larry. As an Impractical Jokers fan, even sitting in Row Q was the perfect way to celebrate being at the show!

blog-3
Our seats! We had such a great view.

We were then treated to an excellent warm-up by a fellow American comedian, however the audience screamed when the Impractical Jokers came out. It was SO wonderful to be in the presence of 4 normal guys from Staten Island who just have the job of embarassing each other on television for people across the world to see. To think that 15,000 people had bought tickets within minutes of them being released. My little sister was extremely excited to be seeing them with her own eyes.

blog-4
The Tenderloins Comedy Troupe.

Seeing the Impractical Jokers SO much on TV made it a bit strange at first to hear them do stand-up. I’m used to watching live stand up by my favourite comedians frequently, therefore seeing performers who are so used to the TV on stage was different. Yet, it was clear that they’re very comfortable on stage. Continually joking around, the four of them had light banter the entire way through. The show started at first by discussing one of the iconic moments of the show, where Murr was punished by having his eyebrows shaven and then going to the DMV to get his new license picture taken. It was HILARIOUS to hear to hear the references to Lex Luther and how he looked like Satan at his godson’s confirmation.

Throughout the show, there were discussions about the interview they did with Katie Couric (with a tip-top joke about Keurig) as well as Q throwing an unsweetened iced tea into a car, even though he’d had 2 Baconators from Wendy’s*. Sal also talked about his road rage (god bless) and Joe told the cops to suck it when he was driving over to Atlantic City as his mom had won $25,000.

* I am determined to eat a Baconator as soon as I get back to the United States to complete my studies out there!

blog-5
Murr feeling embarassed, when is he not? 

Some of my favourite parts of the Santiago Sent Us Tour included the small videos that we were treated to as audience members. Seeing Sal play ‘Get in the Van’, Joe dressing up as Willy Wonka, Q as a bush, Murr’s incredible eyebrows and his ridiculously creepy outfit, the whole of the O2 was in stitches. At some points, the show felt like we were part of a cult, all entranced by the delightful ways of the Staten Island quartet.

Towards the end of the show, we got their email address and were invited to take as many pictures as possible! They then posed for a photo and I thought it would be cool to take a photo of that moment, so here is that.

blog-6
Everyone with their hands in the air for the Jokers! 

It was at this point that Sal got emotional. He talked to the audience about how wonderful it was to perform to such a large crowd, when their first show saw them perform to 2 people. Their success is phenomenal! I’m so glad I got to spend the evening with my little sister for her birthday. She’s the Scoopski to my Potatoes, the Captain to my Fatbelly and the best friend I’ll ever have. I love her so much, and I can’t wait for when we’re older and we go to even more Impractical Jokers shows! One day, we’ll meet them, I promise.

blog-7
Selfie with my sister before the show started!

I would definitely recommend the Impractical Jokers shows to anyone, even if you’d never seen their show on Comedy Central, although it’s on pretty much all the time, so I don’t know how you could avoid it? They also had some excellent songs playing before the show, and here is one of them.

Enjoy,

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

