Emotional Rollercoaster from Sadness to Fun.

Hi everyone! Thank you so much for all the wonderful support that you gave me to my last post. I appreciate that failure is a subjective term, but all my lovely pals have reminded me that grades aren’t everything, and I need to be proud of myself, love you! If you’re intrigued in any way about what I have to say on my grades, follow this link.

Anyway, on to what I’ve done recently. Over the last few days, I’ve felt an absolute wealth of emotions and I don’t know whether that’s to do with gal things (you know what I mean), but it’s been super fun and I couldn’t have wished for it to be in any other way. It’s bizarre, I started these last few days off with a funeral; a time in which you’re expected to be sad the entire day, but seeing my entire family was wonderful.

IMG_7445
Selfie with my little sis, what an absolute beautiful queen. (Our dresses are from Next and Boohoo). 

The funeral itself was lovely. It was my first ever funeral, so I didn’t know what to expect, however it was a perfect send off for such a wonderful woman. We celebrated her life, and my sister sang a touching, poignant rendition of ‘How Long Will I Love You’, battling through the tears to make our entire family proud. We then went to have a family buffet and have a giant family catch up. In times of sadness, it’s important to remember just how important family is, and I couldn’t imagine being part of a better #dynasty.

IMG_7448
My little sister and my Grandad, the two leading users of Grandad’s Taxis. 

The event was full of taking photos for social media glorification and Timehop fascination in years to come, but whilst the older generations were snapping away and getting confused about how to use an iPhone, my little sister and I were having our own little photoshoots in the sun. We’re cute like that x

IMG_7453
Phoebe made me look like the cutest flamingo that you have possibly ever seen. (Dress and shoes are both from Next).

Friday came and went, then it was onto Saturday, because that’s how a week works. I’d been looking forward to this day for ages, as it was one of my good pal’s 21st birthday. She’d organised a HUGE gathering for her family and friends at her house in Hampshire. It was INCREDIBLE.

There was a marquee, a drinks reception (with unlimited champagne and Pimms, which me and my friends all greatly made use of that!), a sit down meal and a dancefloor. Oh, there was also UNLIMITED drinks at the open bar. Needless to say, Sunday was the WORST hangover I have ever had in my life. Thanks Georgie x

Here are some photos of the wonderful party, which was probably better than Prom and Summer Ball:

IMG_7504
Start of the night, looking classy.
IMG_7510
Love Chris and Fiona! Also, I love my eyebrows in this and I haven’t had them done in 2 weeks. 
IMG_7513
9pm, the food was about to come out and I was going at this point.
IMG_7557
1:45am, pretty worse for wear at this point and MANY units down but still having fun and all the time in the world to post a selfie.

The theme for the occasion was ‘Black Tie’, and I’m always fearful that I’ll go formal, or get the style wrong or not be happy with how I look (because I’m vain, sorry). On this occasion, I felt bloody fab. Everyone looked incredible, and it was genuinely as if we had pre-prom, prom AND after-prom all in the same venue.

My dress was from Lipsy, my heels from Next, with my standard makeup and then new eyelashes from Eylure. Solid outfit all around.

We then woke up in the same room all still drunk/hungover/dreading our future journeys across the country, but knowing that we had had SUCH an incredible night! Now, I can’t wait to see the candid photos that the photographer who was there the whole night took. Fingers crossed for a cute cover photo!

IMG_7561
Some of my gorgeous best pals! 
IMG_7575
Can we be in Made in Chelsea yet? 

And today (Monday 11th July), I went to see A League of their Own! I was very fortunate in getting to get tickets anyway, as they are so over-subscribed and at least a thousand people entered the queue! After 2 and a half hours in the queue, I was finally let in and managed to get on the FRONT ROW. But, this wasn’t without battling all the seasons in a queue. Classic England, having to take a pair of sunnies and a rainmac and umbrella with me for the great outdoors of Elstree and Borehamwood.

IMG_7593
Is it even England if you don’t have clothes for all the seasons on, walking to get a KFC? 

I don’t want to let TOO much about the episode out, because spoilers and stuff and it ruins the fun for you watching, but here’s a little run down of one of the episodes of Season 11. So obviously, James Corden was hosting and I’m in awe of that man. His rise to fame recently has been astronomical, so seeing him in the flesh was wonderful. The team captains, Freddie Flintoff and Jamie Redknapp also did not disappoint! I think Jamie Redknapp is an ‘absolute melt’, but nothing like the love I have for Jack Whitehall who was BEAUTIFUL.

I’ve always wanted to see Jack Whitehall perform live, but as he rarely tours, this was one of the only chances I’d get to see him in a small setting and how bloody fortunate was I. When they did the end challenge, he was 2 metres away. (He’s even more beautiful in real life).

The guests for this episode were Alesha Dixon (weirdest casting ever for ALOTO), Jimmy Carr who was absolutely hilarious as per usual. This was the second time I’d seen him live, as I saw him at QI in 2014. He walked onto set with a Starbucks which made me giggle (the tax jokes here are high!), but the absolute star of the show was the sporting LEGEND, John McEnroe! Yes, I’m serious.

As a result of this, lots of the challenges were based on tennis. Jimmy Carr smashed a TV set, John McEnroe smashed James Corden, and Jack, Freddie, Jamie and Jimmy all got wet in a dunk tank. There was plenty of banter about Strictly Come Dancing, Aljaz and what the panel get annoyed at. It was so fun to just hear Jack Whitehall talk and be hilarious and witty and I just want Jack to leave his girlfriend and find me and marry me x

IMG_7595
My view for this afternoon’s show was decent! 

So, as you can see, the last few days has been an emotional rollercoaster. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I’ve vomited in my house for the first time ever as a result of alcohol, but I could not have imagined these few days to be any different. Bloody thankful for everything recently, what a time to be alive. As a result, I’ve got 2 songs to play. This first song here is the song that we all walked out to at the end of the funeral ceremony, and perfectly typifies my whole family. I love them all so much, and this song is a family classic.  The second song was a song that John McEnroe sang today, along with James Corden during filming and it was truly something special. James, when can I do a carpool with you?

Enjoy,

Sophie x

One comment

Leave a Reply

