Term 2, 2 weeks in but ready for a holiday!

Hello, once again! Look at me, I’m at uni and I’m actually blogging in Week 2 of term. That’s because I actually find myself with a free evening because I’m being super productive. Yes, I may not be getting as much sleep as I truly desire and my days at university are on average over 12 hours, but that’s okay. I couldn’t imagine doing university any different, and these first 2 weeks have been absolutely jam packed.

Blog 1
Tab Baes at Las Iguanas! 

So, I started the term with a lovely meal at Las Iguanas with writers from the Tab. Over the end of Term 1, we all tried to get together, but being the busy BNOC’s we are, none of us could make a time. But, we did and it was LOVELY. If you’ve never been to Las Iguanas, I would totally recommend it as there was such a variety of food on the menus. I had a beef enchilada, with sweet potato fries! Plus, the 2 for 1 cocktails made it even sweeter.

Blog 2
10am fringe cut in with no makeup, I really am a child!

Well, wasn’t this spontaneous! I got my fringe cut back in didn’t I! I was sick of having limp hair without any style, but now I actually have to make a bit of effort in my hair everyday. This was taken last week, and it’s already getting so long that I may have to be a brave girl and get the scissors to trim it myself. Any tips would be REALLY appreciated!

Blog 4
Dom Tour Cocktails! Think of it as a classy Eliminator.

I also went to Manchester for the weekend with Classical and Modern Dance. It was such a fun weekend and I had the absolute time of my life! We did so much on tour, such as going to see Rocky Horror live at the Manchester Opera House which was absolutely INSANE. I didn’t realise just how much of a cult following the show had, but it was incredible to see the whole audience dancing the Time Warp. We then went to Handmade Burger Company, and I had the most gorgeous avocado and bacon burger. After, we went to a bar for a couple of cocktails. We weren’t expecting a WALK IN THE SNOW. I haven’t seen snow in years, and it was so fab taking a few snowy selfies in the cold in the North. The night ended in the O2 club in Manchester, and a few classic Snapchats of me quite drunk but absolutely loving life.

Blog 3
Having Taco Bell for Lunch, because I am a true American embracing my new life.

On the Sunday, our main activity was going to an aerials workshop. Imagine Tumble meets Cirque du Soleil, but for me, with no upper body strength. I can’t believe I’m saying this but 6 days on and I am still aching, which is ridiculous. How did a 2 hour long class cause so much pain?

Blog 5
Went on a night with Nat and didn’t fall over! Success x 

Okay, so this picture was back in the Midlands and not in the North. A few days ago, I went on a club night out with people from my course because the whole night was just so cheap. 3am came along, and I was ready to stay for hours and hours after. Still made that 12 o clock lecture didn’t I. Well done me.

Blog 6
Awkwardly cute, love it x 

I’ve also now been to Stratford upon Avon! For my secret Santa, Kelly bought me a ticket to see Wendy and Peter Pan at the RSC and it was so wonderful! It was really magical, and I’m so inspired now to keep performing. I also, of course, fell in love with the males on stage, in particular Peter Pan. He also doesn’t have any form of social media – I’ve checked. Gutted. It was also great to see Shakespeare’s house and school and immerse myself in a British tourist activity.

So, as you can see, the last 2 weeks have been crazily busy, but it’s been full of fun! Over the next few weeks, I’ll just be in rehearsals and essay writing to distract myself from seminar reading and lectures and just genuinely mundane activities. But, I’ve also had Spotify Premium to keep me on the go, and I’ve found one great song to keep me sane in the library as I write about the radicalness of Luther’s 95 Theses. Take a listen to it, it’ll get very big very quickly! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tu4wWSbnIs

Enjoy,

Sophie x

 

Leave a Reply

