Looking back on Term 1!

Hello once again! I’m so sorry that I write so sporadically on this blog. As I said in my last post, I’m super busy with mentoring and organising shows and basically trying to get my life together. But, we’ve reached the last Monday of term and I can begin to relax and enjoy Christmas. My vacubag of Christmas jumpers are out and today, I’m wearing a top with the Coca-Cola lorry that says ‘Holidays are Coming!’. I really am in a festive mood. I think I deserve to be, as these last few weeks have been absolutely mental! In the space of a few weeks, I’ve wrote just shy of 10,000 words, researching for four essays, creating presentations for seminars and giving a good attempt at getting as much seminar reading as possible. I like to think I’ve participated in seminars enough, but you just never know now.

So, what have I done this second half of Term 1, and what have I got to look forward to?

Well, once again, I’ll split it up in different sections of my uni life. This is not an exhaustive list, just a snippet of my life. I have had a tough second half of Term 1, but thankfully, my parents are always a phone call away.

Essays/Course: My degree has definitely stepped up in first year, there’s no two words about it. I’ve gone from handing in an essay an fortnight, to 4 over 3 weeks. My brain hurts. I’ve written about a variety of topics, from a ‘standard gender essay’ looking at patriarchy, Ukrainian nationalists, physiological understandings of demonic possession and the role of women in WW2. Clearly, I’ve picked a variety of modules that compliment my favourite parts of studying the past. In terms of seminars, I’ve attended every one (don’t worry parents, I’m making the most out of the £9,000 fees!) but if I come out of the seminar understanding a sentence, I consider that a little victory. For examples, studying Cartesian philosophy and Calvinism has not left me gushing to write about these topics in my exam, but I got through them.

I’ve also applied to study abroad! HOW BLOODY EXCITING. I mean, the likelihood of me actually being successful is extremely slim. But, I’d rather apply and not get it, than wonder and regret for the rest of my university life if I could have studied in the USA or Canada. I’m always busy though, and this was something else I’ve had to fit in, but I did it!

BLOG 5
I may not understand half of what I read, but I understand how to take a killer selfie in the Library. 

That’s pretty much been how I’ve lived my second year at uni thus far. No matter how stressed I get, I know that I have to complete it all as otherwise I’ll fail, and then where will I be in life? To perfectly sum up how I feel about my course at the worst of times, I read a book for an America seminar and the title is so apt.

1 BLOG
‘YOUNG, WHITE AND MISERABLE’. PERFECT. Also, add me on Snapchat. ‘sophtommo’. 

Society: Whenever I’m not studying, I’m most likely in the library, buying a hot beverage or doing something for Musical Theatre. As I said in my last blog (I just typed essay and deleted it, I’m clearly in work mode), I am on the Communities Committee which runs Ensemble; a weekly session in the Musical Theatre society which puts together a showcase at the end of the term. The showcase is tomorrow and I’m so bloody excited and proud of everyone! I’ve choreographed 2 numbers and I can’t wait for people to see my choreography for the first time. I’ve also been cast in a new, student written musical called Good Business. It’s set in 1930’s America. Think Bugsy Malone meets Anything Goes meets Thoroughly Modern Millie. I can’t wait.

I also performed in an Inter-Uni competition with a few members from MTW, in which Warwick hosted. It was wonderful meeting people from Birmingham, Surrey and Reading respectively, and I really hope something similar happens next year!

2 BLOG
My best friends before Inter Uni!

But, one of the most exciting parts of term has been that I’m now cast in Anything Goes! Initially, I was told no, and while at the time, I was sad, I quickly realised that I wasn’t sure if I’d have the time for it. Then, last week, I got told that someone in the cast had dropped out and I was asked to stand in! Anything Goes is one of my favourite musicals, and I’m super excited for the opportunity.

Secretly, I wanted to perform Anything Goes at university before even starting my first year. This is one of those moments where it’s like a tick box is checked off. I cannot wait to start y ‘voyage’ and be on the boat with a fab crew.

‘Jack a dull boy’: Term 1 is probably the only opportunity I’ll have left throughout my whole time at uni where I don’t have as little work as I do now. So, I’m really taking the opportunity to go out out and just have fun. As much as I’ve come to university to leave with a History degree, I’ve also come to have the time of my life. And that’s not going to happen if I sit in my room every evening watching TV that I can watch on catch up the next day hungover or possibly still drunk.

BLOG 3
Life and soul of Birmingham Christmas Market!
BLOG 4
Ma bois at Bring a Boy Week. 

That’s all I’ve got time for, folks. Hopefully, I’ll blog a little bit over Christmas. I’ve got one more week left on campus, and then I can be at HOME for the first time in 3 months, watching a normal TV and playing on a games console with my family. For a song to close this post out with, I’m going to use Be Right There by Diplo. I FINALLY joined the Spotify side a few weeks back, and I found this song pretty much straight away and I am addicted.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bNxxVKwKoRc

Enjoy,

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

