The Liebster Award

Well, this blog is going to be a different type of blogpost to all the others I’ve wrote. However, I’m definitely excited to write it! One of my pals who I met at the BBC Broadcasting Event tagged me in a post that awards people who have great blogs! Thanks Maya!  Weird that we became friends during the event because you don’t want to be alone, and then it turns out we live about 20 minutes away from each other and have mutual friends on Facebook! All very odd, but nonetheless very cool. Check out her cool blog here! Anyway, the format of the tag is very simple. They propose 10 questions to you, and then you nominate a couple of people whom have excellent blogs. You then ask those people 10 different questions and then the cycle gets bigger. Pretty similar to a ‘Neknomination’ except I’m not devouring a grim concoction of drinks. That, we’ll save for Kelsey’s. Here goes nothing…

How do you take your tea?

Milk with two sugars, for certain. Anything more or less than this in the sugar department is a CRIME. If I ever get a tea from McDonalds though, I have to put at least 5 sachets of sugar in. From our tea/coffee machine at home (ooh, fancy), I love chai tea lattes which nobody else in my family does so I get them all!

What is your favourite poem?

Great question to ask someone who doesn’t really read poetry. Infact, I haven’t read any poems since GCSE English Literature and the dreaded Anthology. I quite liked ‘The Clown Punk’ and ‘Checkin’ Out Ma History’, they were okay. Historically, In Flanders Fields is a reflective poem which always makes me think.

Will fetch ever happen?

I don’t know. This question will haunt philosophers forever.

What is your favourite film? Please tell me why this is your favourite film.

School of Rock FOR DEFINITE. Absolutely love it, top quality film, I can recite most of the script, I have the soundtrack, I just bloody love it. Jack Black is marvellous and sassy and great. Whenever this film is on, I have to watch it. When I watch it now, I realise just how basic the whole film is, but it takes me back to childhood and happy memories. There’s no way you can’t stop the school of rock. Let’s rock, let’s rock today.

Which country do you want to visit the most?

Technically not a country, but North America, wherever. The USA and Canada. I really enjoy studying North American history and am applying to study in either Toronto or California for a year of my degree. I want to go to New York, walk down Broadway and sing ‘New York’ from On the Town. I want to go to Memphis and dance Steal Your Rock and Roll. I want to go to LA and Hollywood. I want to go to Niagara Falls. I want to go to Toronto and Quebec and improve on my GCSE French skills. I want to study in places that are top for History in their respective continent. I’m definitely not saying this because I want to find my own Buble, nope, definitely not…

Are you superstitious?

I’ll read my horoscope if it’s in a trashy magazine, but I wouldn’t trust my whole life in Mystic Meg. I do believe that the number 13 is lucky, as my little sister was born on the 13th of May. One thing I do, which I guess is a superstition or a tradition is to do with an infrequent bedtime routine. On the night before an exam, I’ll put all my revision I’ve done under my pillow and sleep on it. This way, there is no way my knowledge can escape my brain as it is currently touching it, therefore the knowledge will leave an imprint that is permanent enough for me to do well in my exam. It’s a weird thing, and I don’t know anyone else who does it but I’ve done it since Year 10 and it’s worked for me.

(The questions now get really deep, thanks Maya!)

Who inspires you?

I’m inspired by my parents to live the life that I really want for myself. Throughout my whole life, they’ve instilled in me that I have to work hard to get what I want, but once the hard work is done, I will reap the rewards. I’m inspired by my very talented peers, they push me to develop my skills as a performer and command the stage. I’m inspired by people whom are in years above me, yet studying the same degree. They give me advice and tips and really handy pointers that will allow me to get the most out of my degree. I’m inspired by my tutors. They’ve gone to Harvard, Yale, Princeton… pretty much the whole Ivy League is represented by my tutors. Their intelligence knows no bound, and I’m inspired to constantly work and better myself in my degree, in order to strive towards being a better self. I’m inspired by people whom are regularly seen on TV, such as Sara Pascoe. Sara is a comedian who tackles the idea of feminity and how we represent ourselves, whilst being absolutely hilarious and down-to-earth and great and beautiful. One day, I’d like to meet her! (Sara, if you read this, let’s organise a ‘Hello!’ meeting). She’s currently writing a book, and I know that once it’s out, I’m definitely going to buy out. Katherine Ryan also inspires me to be able to be on TV nearly every single day, and be a sassy bish. On the whole, I’m always seeking inspiration from so many aspects of my life, and I’ve always got my eyes open to how I can better myself as a whole.

What is your dream?

When I was young, it was to be a singer called ‘Rosebud Twinkling’ (I have no idea why that name) and win Pop Idol. I’d just seen Will Young do it, so if he could, why couldn’t I? That dream has now changed ever so slightly. My dream is for my job to take me all around the world, and being an inspiration to younger generations. I also cannot wait for the day that I have children, and am able to care for them for my life and see them succeed. I also wish that one day I could perform on a West End stage, but that’s very unlikely. Who knows, though? The future is limitless.

Do you believe in soulmates?

Yes. Sometimes, you meet people who you just know you’re going to remain in contact with for the rest of your life, and that you’ll never breakaway from either, even if you end up living on the other side of the world. Those people to me know who they are, and I’m so thankful for them being in life.

Will you ever grow up?

No. I’ve been 5’6” since I was 14, and I’m an average girl for life, with bigger than average dreams. Oh god, that’s so soppy.

Okay, so those are my 10 questions answered, what a fun-filled way to spend a part of this Wednesday. Anyway, the two blogs that I’d like to nominate to answer 10 questions are Jess’ and Zoe’s. Jess is a girl whom I met at the Heat Networking event and even though she is 16, she can command a room with grace and style and she’ll go far, I’m certain. I’ve known Zoe since starting my degree, and she’s just wonderful. Her blog is powerful and topically related towards her Christian faith, targeting deep issues. These two are fab! Sadly, there’s no cash prize for being nominated, just another blog post for you to do. Here are your 10 questions:

  1. Costa or Starbucks?
  2. Have you ever broken a bone?
  3. Are you in love?
  4. Do you have a soggy bottom?
  5. Favourite comedian?
  6. If you could live anywhere, where would you live?
  7. Favourite CD?
  8. Who inspires you?
  9. Favourite musical?
  10. What’s in your handbag?

Song time now, and it’s a song that doesn’t have any relevance to this post, but I’m really, REALLY enjoying it at the moment. The song is ‘Border’ by Years and Years, and once you’ve listened to it, I’m certain you’ll have it in your head: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68Yuxh5IkZY

Enjoy,

Sophie x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

